Side Project: A Universe of One

I’ve had many flirtations with Tumblr, but they were mostly failures. It’s due partially to the fact that I was trying to use it as a medium to feel good about myself. Trying to live up to society’s increasingly unrealistic standards is just ridiculous. So now I’m trying something different, creating something more self-contained and separate from who I am.

I re-read an interview with Cindy Sherman and she talks about how she really tries to be as ugly as she can be. Not because vanity isn’t important to her, but because she really doesn’t see her characters as extensions as herself. Which brings me to my new side blog, a Universe of One or UnO. It’s a catalog of the characters I’ve created. Rather than naming each photo or character, I’ve paired each with an anecdote or faux-history.

If you’re on tumblr, please go follow: http://universeofone.tumblr.com

2 thoughts on “Side Project: A Universe of One

Leave a Reply

