SF MOMA Adventure

It has been said that anyone can find inspiration in an art gallery, but the true creative can find inspiration in the most mundane environment. I kept this in mind while photographing my time in the SF Museum of Modern Art. While my trip was one part discovery (it was my first time there), it was also one part documentary.

Thousands of people shuffle through that museum every day and I’m certain they’re all taking photos of the exact same things I am. So the challenge was how can I document this museum differently.

Maybe it’s because I hold my own photo exhibits in Hawaii, or maybe it’s because I just love photographing people… either way, I am fascinated with watching people look at art. I try to decipher their emotions and thought process. Even more amusing was listening to them talk about the art.

Being in the SF MOMA was like a fish being thrown back into the ocean. It may not be the part of the ocean I’m used to, but I felt comfortable.

Leave a Reply

