SF Chinatown

I arrived at 7:30am and had lots of time to kill before the SF Museum of Modern Art opened, so I ventured into Chinatown. The first challenge was finding it. I guess searching for “chinatown” on Google map was too broad, since Chinatown was a pretty large area. Several google searches later, I found it. Man was it far from the train stop I got off at. As a result, I wound up carting my luggage around almost 20 city blocks — and up those infamous San Francisco hills no less!

But it was totally worth it.

The Chinatown is so much larger than the one I call home in Hawaii. It’s got many more “import” stores and just lots more places to grab cheap groceries. In addition, all the decorations on display in honor of the upcoming Moon Festival made the place a joy to photograph.

The buildings are amazing art in themselves. From the extravagant architectural details to the choice of bold colors coating them, it was a feast for the eyes!

I’ve seen some sad chinatowns across the US and even in other countries and while the Honolulu Chinatown holds a special place in my heart, I’d go as far to say that the San Francisco Chinatown is by far my most favorite! I am already looking forward to my next visit to it!

Leave a Reply

