Burton Self Portrait #2: The Hollow Tree of Tree Hollow

Here is the second photo for my Tim Burton inspired self portrait series:

Click to view larger

Lately, I’ve been obsessed with miniatures and it was only natural for me to do an homage to Nightmare Before Christmas. It should be noted that the character in this photo is meant to be a Burtonized version of me.

My original concept was to feature a cutout version of an actual photo of me (similar to my Mini Noir photo) I even made a giant bat bowtie and shot photos of me doing the exact same pose. Unfortunately, I’m not as tall or lanky as I envisioned the character needed to be. So in the end, I wound up creating a cartoon Burtonized version of me.

This has to be one of the most complex lighting setups I’ve ever done. I utilized a total of four lights: two clamp lights outfitted with blue/purple bulbs and two strobes gelled with green and pink. This entire shoot took me 2.5 hours to complete, but if you add in the time it took to build all the miniatures, this entire shoot took me 2 days to complete. So worth it.

Now to plan for photo #3. Any suggestions?

Lighting setup

Leave a Reply

